Skip to main content
Socitm better connected logo

Better Connected Awards 2016-17 shortlist

Mon 05 Jun 2017
Vicky Sargent

Fifty councils are on our shortlist for the Better Connected Awards, to be presented at the end of day one of the Connected Local Government Live event in Birmingham on 28/29 June.

The list is different from, but overlaps with, our list of 36 four star councils, which can be found on the overall results page on this site.

The awards are based on performance in the Better Connected surveys, and will be given in 16 categories with multiple winners in a number of categories: 

  • Best Council – county councils, shire districts, English, Welsh and Scottish unitaries, metropolitan districts and London boroughs
  • Best for Mobile
  • Best for Search, navigation and A-Z
  • Best for Accessibility
  • Best for Business licensing
  • Best for Council Tax
  • Best for building control (building warrant Scotland)
  • Best for rubbish & recycling
  • Best for social care
  • Overall Award

The Awards presentation and party is free to attend. Food tickets can be bought in advance and there will be a pay bar.

For those making the trip to Birmingham, there is an exciting programme of events focused on learning from the Better Connected; the local digital innovation ‘pitch & talk’ sessions; workshops, events and masterclasses on cyber security, accessibility, smart cities, data, women in IT and future councils; and a series of workshops on digital libraries, social care, waste management and planning. 

Ticket prices are discounted for people attending from Socitm member councils and from our partner professional associations. 

Many congratulations to the councils nominated for awards, in some cases multiple times:


Angus x2

Barnsley MBC

Basingstoke & Deane     

Blaby DC x 3

Bracknell Forest

Charnwood BC

Chelmsford City x 4      

Cheshire East

Christchurch BC

City of Cardiff      

Coventry City


East Dorset DC

East Renfrewshire x 2   

East Riding of Yorkshire

East Sussex x 2

Falkirk x 2







King's Lynn & West Norfolk


Milton Keynes

Mole Valley DC

Neath Port Talbot

Newport City        

North Ayrshire

North Devon

North Lincolnshire


Rhondda Cynon Taf

Richmond upon Thames


Rushmoor BC


South Tyneside x 2

Spelthorne BC

Telford & Wrekin



West Dorset DC

Weymouth & Portland BC

Windsor & Maidenhead x 2

Wokingham BC

Wrexham CBC     

Wycombe DC



Post a comment (Login required)

Blog Archive